Sebastian Pilgrim

"Sebastian Pilgrim as Hagen has got demonic dimensions […]. His voice is impressive with a pitch-black sonority and an exciting energy."

Sebastian Pilgrim graduated at the Hochschule für Musik in Detmold with Prof. Sabine Ritterbusch and at the Musikhochschule Hannover. He was guest at the Hugo Wolff Liedfestival in 2015 and finalist in the BBC Cardiff Singer of the World Competition. He is also a winner of several awards, like the Special Award of the Bundeswettbewerb Gesang Berlin and the Wolfgang Wagner Award at the International  Song Competition for Wagner Voices. After his debut as Sir John Falstaff (Die lustigen Weiber von Windsor) at the International Young Opera Weikersheim still during his studies, he immediately was engaged as an ensemble member at Theater Erfurt.

From 2013 to 2016, the young bass was ensemble member at the Nationaltheater Mannheim where he made his very successful debuts as König Filippo II (Don Carlo), as Fiesco (Simon Boccanegra) and as Hagen in the revival of 'Götterdämmerung' in 2016. He further enlarged his repertoire with parts such as Kadmos (Die Bassariden), Sarastro, Basilio (Il barbiere di Seviglia), Orbazzano (Tancredi), General (The Gambler) as well as Timur, Titurel and Fafner.

In 2017, he was guesting as Erster Priester (Die Zauberflöte) at Opéra National de Paris and as Hunding at the Wagner Days in Budapest under the baton of M° Adam Fischer. In 2017-18, he returned to Mannheim for his debut as Rocco in a new production of 'Fidelio' and sang Fafner (Das Rheingold) at Theater Bielefeld. Up from 2018-19 season, he is a member of the Oper Leipzig where he will perform roles like Grande Inquisitore (Don Carlo) Landgraf (Tannhäuser), Eremit (Freischütz), Kezal (Die verkaufte Braut), Fasolt and HagenIn spring 2019, he was again invited to the Scala for Bruckners ‘Te Deum’. In 2019/20, he will sing in Leipzig as König Marke (‘Tristan und Isolde’), La Roche (‘Capriccio’) and as Gurnemanz.

He is also a various concert singer and performs besides in Haydn's Schöpfung, Bach's Weihnachtsoratorium and Mendelsohn's Elias also in numerous world premieres, for example in the 'Storm-Lieder of André Werner at Komische Oper Berlin. Especially the (German) Liedgesang has his attention. But he is also a successful composer and received the Kurt Masur Award at the Deutscher Musikwettbewerb Komposition in 2017.

Not available!